How to Delete a Customer in QuickBooks Online?

How to Delete a Customer in QuickBooks Online?

QuickBooks allows its users to manage or remove unwanted customers from the list. In case your QuickBooks account has a bunch of customers that you no longer wish to keep then you can delete them. Now, in case you have no clue how to delete a customer in QuickBooks Online, you can stick through this guide till the end.

In this particular guide, you will read about the procedure of QuickBooks delete customer, hide customers, merge customers, and delete payments in QuickBooks Online.

Why Do You Need to Delete the Customers in QuickBooks?

Before you learn how to delete a customer in QuickBooks Online, let’s know why you need to delete or filter the customers.

QuickBooks users can add multiple customers or contacts to their QB contact list. However, in some instances, you don’t want some users to be there on the list so you decide to delete them. Now, there are two instances when you wish to delete the users.

  • When you want to add the new user but the old contacts (that are no longer available or have no account history) taking space.
  • When you prefer to filter your contact list by removing the unwanted or duplicate contact from your list.

These unwanted contacts occupy the space and every organized user would want to clean the contact list after a period of time. If you are concerned about how to delete customer from QuickBooks Online then we will help you to do so and also help to restore deleted customer in QuickBooks.

How Do I Delete an Inactive Customer in QuickBooks Online?

If you are thinking about how to delete customer in QuickBooks Online then you can do it by navigating through the Customers tab. In addition, this process can be followed in two different ways. For better understanding, you can take the help of the following instructions.

Please Note: If you delete the customer in QuickBooks Online, the transactions linked with the customer will still remain in the company data reports. Moreover, if you are removing the parent customer, it will also delete the sub-customers. Now, let’s know how to delete a customer in QuickBooks Online.

QuickBooks Delete Customer Manually

If you want to delete the customer one by one in QuickBooks Online then you can follow the instructions stated below: 

  • Login to your QuickBooks Online account.
  • Click on the “Sales” option located on the left.
  • Then, go to the “Customers” tab located on the top.
  • Select the customer that you wish to remove from the contact list.
  • Once selected, hit the “Edit” button.
  • Then, click on the “Make inactive” option located at the bottom.
  • Hit the “Yes” button when prompted on your screen.

Delete Multiple Customers in QuickBooks

Those who are stuck by the idea “how do I delete multiple customers in QuickBooks Online?” can take the help of the following steps:

  • After logging into your QuickBooks Online account, click on the “Sales” option located on the left.
  • Then, go to the “Customers” tab located on the top.
  • Place the checkmark beside the name of the customer whom you wish to delete.
  • Click on the “Batch actions” drop-down.
  • Then, click on the “Make inactive” option located at the bottom.
  • Hit the “Yes” button when prompted on your screen.

This is how you can delete your customers from your contact list. Whether you wish to remove only one customer or multiple customers at once, the above-mentioned steps are helpful to follow.

How to Manage Customers in QuickBooks Online?

As stated earlier, QuickBooks allows you to manage the customers in your account. If you are reluctant to delete the users from the list then you can hide them or merge the customer (if the contacts are duplicates). This will save space while maintaining the customer on the list without deleting them entirely.

Now, where we are going to enlighten you on how you can hide and merge the customers in QuickBooks Online. Let’s start off!

Must Read: How to Merge Vendors in QuickBooks Desktop?

How to Hide Customers in QuickBooks Online?

Although users can delete the customer in QuickBooks, by hiding them you can make the task even better. This is because when you hide the customer, the customer’s files can be stored whereas if you delete them, you will lose the details permanently. And, what if the customer you deleted will be required in the future?

Therefore, we will suggest you hide the customer for a particular period of time instead of vanishing them totally. If you want to know how to hide a customer in QuickBooks Online, check out the following steps:

  • Login to your QuickBooks Online account.
  • Click on the “Customer Center” that must be located on the top of your screen.
  • Now, click on the “Customer and Job” located on the left.
  • When you find the customer’s list, click twice on the customer’s name that you wish to hide.
  • Then, you can click on the “Customer is Inactive” option.
  • Hit the “OK” button.

Once you follow these steps carefully, the selected customer will be hidden from the list. Similarly, you can hide other customers that you don’t want to see in the list for now. If required in the future then you can unhide them.

How to Merge Customers in QuickBooks Online?

There are instances when you add the same contacts repeatedly. These duplicate contacts do nothing but occupy unnecessary space.

By merging the customers in QuickBooks, you can clean the space while maintaining your contacts in the list. To know how to merge customers in QuickBooks Online, you can pursue the following discussion.

  • After logging into your QuickBooks Online account, click on the “Customer Center” that must be located on the top of your screen.
  • Now, click on the “Customer and Job” located on the left.
  • When you find the customer’s list, click twice on the customer’s name that you wish to remove.
  • Then, in the “Edit” window, you can change the name of the customer to the name you wish to use.
  • Hit the “OK” button.
  • Select the “Yes” option.

After you confirm your action, the customers will be merged. Thereafter, you will not see any unwanted duplicate customer in the list. So, this is just another way to manage your customers in QuickBooks Online.

How to Delete a Customer Payment in QuickBooks?

If you ever require to delete the payment of a specific customer then you can do that easily. If required, you can apply it to the specific invoice again. Here are the following steps for removing a customer payment in QuickBooks Online.

  • Go to the “Customers” option.
  • When you find all the payments, click on the “Payment” option.
  • Then, go to the “More” option located at the bottom.
  • Now, hit the “Delete” button.
  • After that, click on the “Create” or “Plus” icon.
  • Now, select the “Receive Payment” option.
  • Here, add the name of the customer.
  • Add the bank name where you want to deposit.
  • Enter your “Amount” and “Check Details”.
  • Now, check the invoices that you wish your payment to apply.

This is how you can delete the payment for any customer in your QuickBooks account. If it is required then you can re-apply the payment to a specific invoice.

Final Verdict

Besides managing transactions, users can also manage customers in QuickBooks Online. If you want to know how to delete customer on QuickBooks Online then this guide will help you. You can delete the customers one by one or in bulk. This guide has all the ways to do it in less time.

Here, we have also talked about how you can easily manage the customers by hiding them for a short while rather than deleting the customers entirely. If it is required then you can merge the customers as well. This is a beneficial trick when the contact list has duplicate customers. So, these are certainly different ways to manage and delete the customers in QuickBooks Online.

Hopefully, you find the guide helpful!
Apart from this, if you are finding some other issues with your accounting software such as QuickBooks multi-user mode not working then you can read this guide to fix it immediately.

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Subscribe
Notify of
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments